“Growing Up.”

I feel more comfortable with myself lately. I feel like I have a true grasp of what I want and what is important to me as a creature of this planet. I’ve had so many “revelations” as of late. Be it about religion, the clothes I wear, the way I view the world, or the way the world views me.. It’s been so nice to let myself have an open mind instead of worrying about the bullshit that doesn’t really matter in the end.

Being brought up in a very religious, ‘my way or the highway’ sort of environment probably plays a key role in my stance on life these days. (Then again, doesn’t everyone’s upbringing affect how they react to the daily grind? 😉 Just a side thought) This, plays a huge role in my parenting. This morning we were all in the living room, getting ready for the day. We were watching music videos as we usually do, and Justin Timberlake’s new song, Can’t Stop This Feeling came on. I FUCKING LOVE THIS SONG! It is so peppy and fun and danceable AND it’s got a brilliant message!!! Anyway, kiddo #1 was smiling to himself as I danced around the living room in my jammies while Daddy sang along and the baby was wiggling around in his high chair to the jams. Daddy said he thinks of kiddo #1 when the little blonde boy is dancing in the video. Kiddo #1 said ‘I wouldn’t ever dance like that.’ To which Daddy replied. ‘Why not? You have absolutely nothing to be embarrassed about in this house!’ And I chimed in and said ‘you have absolutely nothing to be embarrassed about EVER! You do you bud, if people don’t like it, that’s their issue to deal with. If you’re comfy and happy and it makes you happy to dance or sing or be goofy, go ahead and do it! Everyone else can just deal with it!’ Both Daddy and Kiddo#1 smiled up at me and we just went on about our day. I was super serious though. I feel like that is my motto in life. You can love me or not, it doesn’t affect how I’m going to go on about my day. My goal is happiness. Pure and Simple.  That’s what I want to pass down to my kids. If they are happy in what they do on a daily basis, then I’ve done my job. I don’t want to shove anything down their throats, religion, music, college.. Nothing! I want them to be independent and to form their own opinions on such things. We let our oldest wear whatever he wants every day. He may not be color coordinated (and his socks NEVER match) but he is comfortable in his skin and in his choices and that makes me proud. I love that he is able to honestly just be himself and be totally comfortable about it.

My family is teaching me be more comfortable in myself. They accept me for all I am, and love me all the same. If I don’t want to wear my bra ( if it’s after 5 on a work day, I’m not going to be wearing one) if I am barefoot (which I pretty much will always choose to be if possible) if I don’t want to wear makeup.. I’m still comfy in my skin and Daddy thinks I’m the most beautiful little girl in the world. He told me so! I believe him when he says it too.

It’s a beautiful revelation I’m on and I’m grateful to be able to share it with you all. Hopefully, I’ll inspire someone, somewhere to realize that they are beautiful just the way they are. Sub, Dom, Vanilla, Little, Daddy, whatever you are, your soul is your own, and it is beautiful and wonderful, and full of so much incredible potential! Fill it with good vibes and good peeps and you will never need to worry again. Xoxo.

All my happy thoughts,
PaisleyX

6 thoughts on ““Growing Up.”

  1. This entry made me smile and gave me such a happy feeling. I share your thoughts about teaching your kids to be themselves and be happy in all that they are and do, and others can be damned if they don’t “approve.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

